artsexylightbox

Click image to enlarge.

Just over six months ago I had the pleasure of reading my first "If You Like" book, If You Like Quentin Tarantino... and I dug it a lot. Well, next month, the latest "If You Like" novel will be hitting the shelves, this time its theme is True Blood.

From the press release:

A bloodsucking bounty of pop-culture vampires from Bon Temps and beyond.

People have been reading, writing, and conjuring fictional vampires for over two centuries. They have been talking about them for even longer. You could fill a small-town library with every book about vampires. You could spend a lifetime watching vampire movies and TV shows and die of old age before you reach the end. (True Blood alone would devour three straight days without breaking to eat or sleep.) No matter how much the vampire buff you claim to be, there are always new things to discover.

If You Like True Blood… (Limelight Editions, June 2013, $16.99), by Dave Thompson, recommends more than 200 new-to-you movies, shows, stories, and songs for those whose thirst for vampires can't be quenched. Thompson, who admits to vampire hunting in Highgate Cemetery as a youth, covers a wide range of vampiric topics, including undead through the ages, vampires in English literature, erotica, gothic rock, great movie Draculas, female vampires, and the classic horror-cinema output of the Hammer Films studio.

Anne Rice, Doctor Who, Alice Cooper, The Addams Family, even Marvel Comics-all these and more flit not-so-silently through these pages, as do real-life human monsters like Vlad the Impaler and the Countess Bathory. Exclusive interview material stirs fresh plasma into the pot. The book also contains useful sidebars of vampire rock songs, destinations, and killing methods as well as appendices that stake out the best movie and literary vampires out there.

If You Like True Blood… offers up a wealth of characters, a host of creatures, and a world that has slipped beyond the shadows of our own to populate itself with some of humanity's oldest and most powerful nightmares-or fantasies.

I have to admit, I have not seen very many episodes of the popular vampire series, but if If You Like Quentin Tarantino is any indication of the rest of the series, this will be on my must read list.

Hit up ifyoulike.halleonardbooks.com for more If You Like titles, which cover the Beatles, The Sopranos, The Terminator, Monty Python, Led Zeppelin, Metallica, Quentin Tarantino, and Bob Marley.

 

Cover
Cover

Want to share some news? Click here to hit us with it!

About The Author
Steve Pattee
Author: Steve Pattee
Administrator, US Editor
He's the puppet master. You don't see him, but he pulls the strings that gets things done. He's the silent partner. He's black ops. If you notice his presence, it's the last thing you'll notice — because now you're dead. He's the shadow you thought you saw in that dark alleyway. You can have a conversation with him, and when you turn around to offer him a cup of coffee, he's already gone.
Recent Articles

Search

Popular Categories

YouTube

OBEY - CONSUME

Contests

  • 1

Join Us!

Close

Hit the buttons below to follow us, you won't regret it...