"If You Like True Blood…" Book Review


Written by Jennifer Turner

Published by Limelight Editions

 

If You Like True Blood 01

 


Written by Dave Thompson
2012, 232 pages, Reference
Released on July 15th, 2012

Review:

 

I was very pleased to receive If You Like True Blood…Here Are Over 200 Films, TV Shows, and Other Oddities That You Will Love. Since I am a huge fan of True Blood and vampire fiction in general, this guide is right up my alley. As a self-proclaimed movie buff, I have always loved movie reference guides. Leonard Maltin, Videohound, Charles Stanley, you name them, I have read them.

However, this book exceeds all the previous movie guides that I have read. The one thing I hate about these guides is how critical they can be. I just want to read what the film is about without someone else's opinion clouding my judgment. And yes I understand that how hypocritical that previous statement sounds coming from me, someone who reviews movies and expresses more than her fair share of opinions.

If You Like True Blood... impressed me by doing away with the traditional star rating systems. In addition, the descriptions of the films within are not bare bones nor are they so overly detailed that you feel like you have already seen the movie. In fact I am really impressed with author; Dave Thompson has a wonderfully vivid way of describing things to the reader.

While I call this a movie guide the book goes far beyond films including television series and music. The music part also blew me away; it introduced me to previously unknown artists that I may have never discovered on my own.

The movie choices range from the very obscure to the more well-known blockbusters. I randomly looked up some of the films that I hadn't seen and was glad to do so. This book just doesn't toss a bunch of horror films into the mix and call it good. It researches what the average True Blood viewer is into and gives the reader some great gems. They have the obvious films; such as Lost Boys and Blade. And then are the lesser known favorites like The Fearless Vampire Killers and Dracula's Daughter.

It is obvious that Dave Thompson is a real fan of True Blood. He actually researches the genre as opposed to just listing random vampire films.

If You Like True Blood…Here Are Over 200 Films, TV Shows, and Other Oddities That You Will Love is an amazing reference guide and I am very happy to have gotten a hold of it.

 

Grades:

 

Overall: Fivestars If You Like True Blood Cover
Buy Amazon Us
If You Like True Blood Cover
Buy Amazon Uk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Search

Popular Categories

YouTube

OBEY - CONSUME

Contests

  • 1

Join Us!

Close

Hit the buttons below to follow us, you won't regret it...