Tuesday, 23 September 2014 00:18

FEARnet's August Lineup

 

 

image

Click image to enlarge.

 

 

In addition to the films that will be making their network or television premiere on FEARnet this month, you can look forward to a six-film "HorrorFest" marathan, a "Gothic Novels" double feature, a Holliston marathon, as well as its season finale.

From the press release:
The acclaimed Australian import THE LOVED ONES makes its world television premiere on FEARnet as part of the network's Foreign Fridays block on Friday, August 2, at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT. This shocker tells the story of the troubled teenager Brent (Xavier Samuel), who is punished by Lola and her demented Daddy, after refusing to go to prom with her. What ensues is a twisted nightmare, as Brent struggles to survive the ultimate prom night from hell. THE LOVED ONES re-airs at 12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT, following the premiere.

Dane Cook and Josh Hutcherson star in the world television premiere of the genre-bending DETENTION, on Sunday, August 25, at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT. The inventive and original horror-comedy follows a group of teens in the small town of Grizzly Lake, as they deal with high school drama, time travel, a deranged serial killer, and the end of the world.

Also in August, FEARnet is giving away another loaded prize pack with the Back 2 School Sweepstakes! Starting Thursday, August 1 at 9 a.m. PT and running until 5 p.m. PT on Saturday, August 30, participants can enter FEARnet's Back 2 School Sweepstakes at http://www.fearnet.com/fearnets-back-2-school-sweeps, featuring a 32 GB Xperia Tablet S; DVDs of back-to-school favorites such as BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER: The Complete Series, A NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET Collection, and INSIDIOUS; DL & Co. Silver Skull Stirrers; exclusive TALES FROM THE CRYPT merchandise; FEARnet swag, and more!

Other August Highlights Include:

"Foreign Fridays" - Every Friday (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT)
On Friday, August 9, it's a double-dose of thrills from Down Under, as distraught parents believe their daughter's death was no accident in Australia's LAKE MUNGO, at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT. And a student inherits an ancient death machine in NEEDLE, at 12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT. On Friday, August 16, a woman enters a second-by-second descent into madness in Uruguay's LA CASA MUDA, at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT. And a young boy has an eerie encounter in Guillermo Del Toro's Spanish ghost story, THE DEVIL'S BACKBONE, at 12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT.

On Friday, August 23, it's Israel's first horror film, BLOOD CLAN, at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT, where lives become entangled when a man must save his sister from a psychopath. And thieves run afoul of Nazi cannibals in France's FRONTIERE(S) at 12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT. Friday, August 30, is devoted to J-Horror, as a man is haunted by newspapers depicting future tragedies in PREMONITION, at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT. And a virus rages through a rundown hospital in INFECTION, at 12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT.

'THE RITE' (Broadcast Premiere) - Sunday, August 4 (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT)
A doubting priest is forced to perform an exorcism when his mentor (Anthony Hopkins) becomes possessed by a powerful demon. Rutger Hauer and Toby Jones also star.

'HOLLISTON' Season 1 & 2 Marathon - Monday, August 5 (10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT)
Adam, Joe, Corri and Laura deal with life, love and Lance Rockett, as FEARnet presents an all-day marathon of seasons 1 and 2 of HOLLISTON, to whet fans' appetites and get them all caught up in time for the season finale.

'HOLLISTON' Season 2 Finale - Tuesday, August 6 (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT)
Adam and Joe create their own film festival to give SHINPADS a proper premiere. But things are turned upside down when Lance delivers bad news, Joe gives Laura an ultimatum, and Corri shares a secret that will change her relationship with Adam forever. Featuring appearances by Sid Haig, Bill Moseley and Seth Green.

"HorrorFest Stunt" - Thursday, August 8 (4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT)
FEARnet presents six films to die for in this marathon featuring some of the best offerings from After Dark's HorrorFest. The Clive Barker adaptation DREAD kicks off the carnage at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT, with a film student (Jackson Rathbone) whose study of fear has terrible consequences. Next, zombie children seek revenge after a fatal mining accident in WICKED LITTLE THINGS at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT. Then, a young woman and her therapist (Mimi Rogers) are menaced by a murderous hitchhiker in PENNY DREADFUL at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT. THE HAMILTONS follows at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT, as orphaned siblings find sinister ways to survive. And young Londoners discover a gruesome secret lurking in THEREEDS, at 12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT. LAKE MUNGO brings the night to a close, at 2 a.m. ET/11 p.m. PT, as parents unravel the mystery of their daughter's drowning.

'THE FRIGHTENERS' (Network Premiere) - Sunday, August 11 (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT)
A con-man (Michael J. Fox) battles the spirit of a murderer who has returned from the grave to increase his death toll. Peter Jackson directs this darkly comedic smash, starring genre icons Jeffrey Combs, Dee Wallace, R. Lee Ermey, and John Astin.

"Gothic Novels" Double Feature - Thursday, August 22 (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT)
FEARnet unleashes the most infamous literary monsters in the "Gothic Novels" double-feature. MARY REILLY opens the evening at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT, as the titular maid (Julia Roberts) finds herself entangled in the strange case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. MARY SHELLEY'S FRANKENSTEIN follows at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT, as Dr. Frankenstein (Kenneth Branaugh) seeks to create life from death, and ends up making a monster (Robert De Niro).

So what are you looking forward to catching in August on FEARnet? Let us know in the comments below!

FEARnet Links: Official Site | Facebook | Twitter

 

 

 

 

 

Shop for Horror at Amazon US or Amazon UK!

 

 

 

Want to share some news? Click here to hit us with it!

 

 

 

Meanwhile on the internet:

Popular Categories

Search

All content © 2002-Present. No reproduction permitted without expressed permission from HorrorTalk.com.